6 years. Still relevant. 

Having been inspired to set up my own blog I remembered I had written a few posts before. I managed to look up the old blog. One of the posts really called out to me as it conveys the same message that I stand by today . The writing isn’t the best so please forgive me but what struck me is 6 years later this post is just as relevant. Why is that as life progresses and things move on people’s view points stay firmly the same? This post deserved a spot on here because it truly is the point I found my voice. 

Here’s the post:


It’s the 11th of November today. Remembrance Day. The clock struck 11am and the nation paused to mark the anniversary of Armistice Day. When peace returned to Europe at the end of the First World War.
Sadly a group of insensitive individuals decided to break this silence. These individuals were the members of a group called Muslims Against Crusades and broke the silence with chants of ”British soldiers burn in hell” and the burning of poppy’s.

This is truly a disgusting act and those involved should be ashamed of themselves. However I kind of feel there is another group of people who should also hang their head in shame with their own disrespectful actions on this day of remembrance….

My Facebook newsfeed has been flooded with Status updates telling “ALL Muslims to FUCK off” “Muslims should fuck off out of England” 
Now maybe if some people took the time to actually read full news reports rather than the attention seeking headlines or the hearsay of others. They would have a clearer understanding. As far as I am aware there were no reports of EVERY Muslim in Britain burning Poppy’s at 11am today. In fact there were no reports of HALF the population of Muslims or even a quarter. It was in fact a group of less than an hundred. So are we now meant to think that a group of less than a hundred people can be the gage of the views of a whole religion? I should also highlight that fact too, that it is a religion not a race or country. To the majority of Muslim people in Britain this is their  country. They are proud and respectful to the origins behind Remembrance Day. 

Having looked into this subject and done a little bit of research online I discovered the following: In World War II the Indian army provided 2.5 million men. Over 24,000 were killed and 65,000 injured. There is a World War monument in Tower Hill for men within the Merchant Navy who lost their lives fighting in the two world wars. On this tower you will see the names of Muslims: Miah, Latif, Ali, Uddin.

The real point I am trying to get across is this should not be a case of “us and them.” I am sure some of the reactions made today are exactly what these “extremists” are after! Further distrust, breakdown of communities, acts of revenge. Making it all the more easier for them to recruit in their fight against the west.
Perhaps the reason I feel so strongly about this is my own back ground. My family are from Northern Ireland and I am very proud of roots. I have been told, seen and read how it feels to have a small group’s actions blamed on you. My mum worked in a local pub in England when I was younger. The day after a soldier was shot by a member of the IRA, a customer in the pub refused to be served by my mum because she was Irish. Did my mum agree with the shooting? No, she was as sickened as the rest of the country. The funny thing is my mum is from the other side of religious fence so the IRA would of just of happily shot her. This guy did not care, she was Irish and therefore she was just as bad.
I am sure most people can agree that selective racism is out there . Often using the lines “I am not a racist but…”  I think it is more important that we look at people’s actions on an individual basis rather than actions representative of a whole race/religion/set of beliefs. It makes me giggle that a certain someone I noticed had listed his political view of being a supporter of the BNP, yet had a status pledging his support to David Haye in his upcoming fight. Oxymoron or just UTTER Moron to say the least.
Can we not just remember the true meaning behind the 11th of November? To remember those who fought so bravely in our name. Fighting in many wars including World War II a war in which we fought against a man who felt that there should be one superior race (!) Today should be a day for peace and respect so let’s leave the hatred to small, pathetic minority and not lower ourselves to their narrow minded levels.
In Flanders’ Fields 

In Flanders’ fields the poppies blow

Between the crosses, row on row,

That mark our place: and in the sky 

The larks, still bravely singing, fly 

Scarce heard amid the guns below. 

We are the dead. Short days ago

We lived, felt dawn, saw sunset glow, 

Loved and were loved, and now we lie

In Flanders’ fields. 

Take up our quarrel with the foe;

To you from failing hands we throw

The torch; be yours to hold it high,

If ye break faith with us who die

We shall not sleep, though poppies grow 

In Flanders’ Fields. 

John McCrae, 1915.

Leave a Reply

